Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know
State Historical Society of Iowa

State Historical Society Accepting Awards and Board Nominations

Dec 12, 2019

Two new awards that honor historical research, archaeology and historic preservation highlight the State Historical Society of Iowa's call for Excellence in History Awards and board nominations this year.

Beginning this year, the society is accepting nominations for the biennial Dorothy Schwieder Excellence in Research Award. Schwieder (1933-2014) was a groundbreaking historian, biographer and academic who became the first woman appointed as a professor in Iowa State University's Department of History, in 1966. During her influential career, she authored or edited dozens of books, scholarly articles and encyclopedia entries. She retired in 2001 and was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 2012.

Also new this year, the society is accepting nominations for the Excellence in Archaeology and Historic Preservation Award, which recognizes the best archaeology or historic preservation project at the local or state level. To be eligible, the archaeology or preservation work must have been completed during the previous calendar year. All types of preservation work are eligible, including but not limited to historic buildings.

The Excellence in Iowa History Awards program recognizes individuals, organizations and communities that made outstanding contributions to the study and practice of Iowa history during 2019, and outstanding publications, local history initiatives and significant, long-term achievements in Iowa history. Nominations for the Shambaugh Award (for books) are due Jan. 2, 2020, and all other nominations are due Feb. 1, 2020. More information about eligibility, criteria and submission directions can be found at

SHSI Board Nominations are due March 2, 2020

In addition, the State Historical Society of Iowa is accepting nominations for members to serve on its board of trustees. Nominations can be submitted by any person, but nominees must be members of the State Historical Society of Iowa, willing to attend five meetings per year and serve on various committees.

To submit a nomination or receive more information, contact Jessica Rundlett at State Historical Society of Iowa, 600 E. Locust Street, Des Moines, Iowa, 50319, 515-281-7471 or Nominations should be accompanied by a brief biography of the nominee – 250 words maximum, written in narrative form. Nominations must be received in the State Historical Society of Iowa office or postmarked by March 2, 2020. Nominees will be slated on a ballot, and the State Historical Society membership will elect one trustee member in spring 2020 to serve a three-year term that begins July 1, 2020.

Iowans and others interested in becoming a member can download a membership form at and send it to: State Historical Society of Iowa, Memberships, 600 E. Locust Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319. For more information about membership, email

Members not only have an opportunity to vote on board of trustee nominations, they also help the State Historical Society of Iowa preserve and provide access to Iowa history through its museum, libraries, archives, publications, historic sites and numerous programs and activities.

The State Historical Society of Iowa is a division of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs. For more information, visit or call 515-281-5111.

The Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs and its three divisions – the Iowa Arts Council, Produce Iowa - State Office of Media Production and the State Historical Society of Iowa – empower Iowa to build and sustain culturally vibrant communities by connecting Iowans to the people, places and points of pride that define our state. The department’s work enables Iowa to be recognized as a state that fosters creativity and serves as a catalyst for innovation where the stories of Iowa are preserved and communicated to connect past, present and future generations.