

# "lowa: Three Branches of Government" from The Goldfinch

lowa's present constitution is based on the Constitution of 1857. The Constitution of 1857 included a Bill of Rights based on the first ten amendments to the U.S. Constitution. It also provided for three branches of government (see chart below).

Like the U.S. The Constitution, Iowa's Constitution has been changed many times.

## Separation of Powers Chart

#### **Executive Branch**

- Governor and other staff
- Approves or vetoes (refuses) bills
- Administers or carries out laws passed by the General Assembly
- May recommend proposed laws

## **Judicial Branch**

- State Supreme Court and other courts
- Decides whether laws are constitutional
- Appoints state supreme court justices
- Interprets laws

### **Legislative Branch**

- General Assembly: House of Representatives, Senate
- Passes laws
- Confirms state supreme court justices